Where do I get a license for my dog?

You can obtain a license at the Dog Wardens Office, 1230 N. Meridian Road, Youngstown, Ohio, or the Auditors Office, Mahoning County Court House, Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Other agencies are also available throughout the County. Phone our office at 740-2205 for a complete listing.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

When do I need to control my dog?

You must maintain control of your dog at all times. The Ohio Revised Code specifies that all dogs must be kept confined to your property or under reasonable control at all times.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

Where do I need to control my dog?

You must maintain control of your dog everywhere. Because the confinement law is a state requirement, a dog must be controlled in both urban and rural areas of the county. Municipalities may have additional regulations regarding dog control.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

Why do I need to get a license for my dog?

Licensing is a requirement of Ohio law. The license, attached to your dog's collar, will identify you as the owner should the dog be lost. If the dog is impounded by the Dog Warden's office and is wearing its tag, you will be notified. Dogs not wearing their current license tags are held only 3 days for redemption.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

When do I need to get a license for my dog?

You need to obtain a license every year. All dogs 3 months of age and older must be licensed each year by February 28. Dogs acquired after February 28 must be licensed immediately to avoid penalties.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

Why do I need to control my dog?

As a courtesy to others and to protect your dog. Imagine how your neighbor must feel when your dog runs through his garden, messes in his yard, knocks over his trash can, or bites his child. In rural areas, imagine if you were the farmer who had his animals killed or injured by dogs. All of these things can and do happen in Mahoning County. It is the fault of no one except the irresponsible dog owner. It's also dangerous for your dog to ran at large. Dogs are no match for cars. The dog owner is held responsible for both personal injury and property damage done by their dog.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

When do I need to get my dog immunized against rabies?

Your dog must be immunized against rabies when your dog becomes 4 months of age. All dogs must be vaccinated against rabies by a licensed veterinarian according to a regulation of the Mahoning County General Health District.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

Where can I get my dog immunized against rabies?

Your dog may be immunized by any licensed veterinarian in Mahoning County. Check the yellow pages listing under Veterinarian.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

Why do I need to get my dog immunized against rabies?

Rabies can be contracted by any warm blooded animal including man. It is almost always fatal. Rabies immunization helps to prevent the spread of this disease from animal to animal and from animal to man.

Back to the Dog Warden Page

How do I obtain a service dog license?

Emotional support dogs and Therapy dogs are NOT eligible for Service Dog tags.

All service tag applications and licenses are processed through the Mahoning County Dog Warden.  A license can be obtained by completing this application and can be brought to the Dog Warden’s office in person or it can be mailed.  The Dog Warden’s address is 1230 N Meridian Rd # B, Youngstown, OH 44509.

The service dog application is permanent and free of charge.  Before applying to ensure you qualify for this license, please make sure to read the Ohio Revised Code section 955.011 on service animals and the ADA policy on the differences between service animals and emotional support animals—those are included in the application document to review.  Mahoning County will not issue a service dog license for an emotional support dog.  Emotional support dogs must be licensed annually with the standard $20 fee.”